What Goes into a BraggAbout Creation?

9 Dec

I was recently asked about the reason to shop handmade.  I think the best way to answer that question is to understand the process of creating a handmade piece.  I’m going to walk you through the steps of making the latest BraggAbout Creation.

Step 1: Get Inspired

Inspiration

Regardless if inspiration comes from a skein of yarn, a photo, or a conversation there is always some sort of inspiration behind a great piece.  The latest inspiration was from Pascha from The Posh Blog.  She sent me the above photo and asked if I could create something similar.  Of course my answer was YES!  We then discussed price range, color, fiber choices, and changes that she wanted.

Step 2: Find the Perfect Yarn

20121128_150554

I went to 4 or 5 stores and took an insane amount of photos before we were able to decide on a yarn that would be soft, chunky – yet not to hot, machine washable, and grey.  While this process has become much more difficult now that I have a 2 month old, it is still so much fun.

Step 3: Create Pattern

20121201_161607

All of the pieces I make are ONE of a kind patterns.  Nothing is ever written down, I simply decide on shape and then begin knitting.  What you purchase from me will have a similar feel but it will be customized to its owner.  I am a firm believer that if you are supporting me I will be making sure no one else ever has the same thing as you.  I recently collaborated and purchased a “custom” headband for Tiffany, the owner then made and sold MANY more, and a woman that was in a similar circle of friends with ended up buying one without knowing where I had bought mine.  I was SO disappointed!  That is the reason all of my pieces are different.

Step 4: Reassess Pattern

OversizedCowl

This step is made much easier for me because I am engaged to an artist.  We are always discussing lines and continuity of the piece during the production of any of our art.  I redid the bottom of this cowl 6 times before I decided on the “bamboo” stitch.  I wanted something linear with a little curve to it.  This was a new stitch for me, and it has inspired a new cowl that I will be working on after the Holidays.

Step 5: Fill with Baby Snuggles

BabySnuggles

This one is really happening during the entire process.  My sweet baby will probably be a master knitter before she starts school.  I like the owner to know how much love was put into what I am making them, and I love taking 500 pictures of my daughter.

Step 6: Take Photos

The Posh

Since I primarily sell online I have to convey the essence of my piece, and also make sure that the customer is pleased with what is being sent.  I always take photos to make sure that they are pleased before I mail it off.  In Pascha’s case she didn’t want the neck to be as big as the photo, so I had to confirm that this was fitting her vision.  Thankfully it was!  Currently this cowl is packaged and ready to be shipped off on Monday.

Have you ever had a custom piece created for you?  If so what was it and were you happy with the results?  I love collaborating on different knits.  If you have an idea you want made send an email to the BraggAbout Creation’s Etsy or Facebook page!

7 Responses to “What Goes into a BraggAbout Creation?”

  1. sewbastediwannapurl December 13, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    I love this cowl! And it really is nice to get one of a kind items. That’s the fun part of being a crafter too, is creating something new and unique.

  2. Valerie December 15, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    That turned out really beautiful! Speaking of beautiful…I have nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger Award. :) To accept the award please see my post: http://atlantamomofthree.wordpress.com/2012/12/08/beautiful-blogger-award/

    • The Dragon Mama January 6, 2013 at 3:24 am #

      Valerie I love that. I’m working on having the time to finish writing this up! Thank you so much

      • Valerie January 6, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

        You’re welcome! :)

  3. The Posh Blog January 6, 2013 at 2:52 am #

    Step 5 is my favorite!! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

