Blessings in Disguise?

25 Oct

Baby T does not have the go-with-the-flow attitude of her daddy, nor is she the calm angel baby that my mother swears I was.  After several days of tears, both from her and me, I made a doctor’s appointment to find out why I’m not experiencing any sort of sleepy stage that several of my mommy friends talk about when discussing their newborns.  I’m experiencing a baby that could put any cheerleader to shame with her powerful lungs.  I’m experiencing a baby that would eat 24/7 if I allowed it to happen.  And I’m experiencing some pretty severe sleep deprivation.  So to the doctor we went.  To my surprise my daughter is in the 75% for her weight, and 95% for her height!  After an hour with the doctor, analyzing all kinds of Baby T’s behaviors specifically a cry that would suggest pain, which is only consoled through her love of nonstop nursing, and her pretend sleep tricks. we were told the only problem is that I’m a milk machine, and she loves to eat.  The prescription: gas drops, and the suggestion to pump so that B could help with the baby.  I don’t feel like that is in anyway helpful, but we are switching from Gripe Water to Mylicon drops tonight and praying that things change.  In the mean time my daughter is a fantastic model, and I’m so glad I was knitting crazy hats for her instead of nesting during my pregnancy.

A rare moment in the BraggAbout house

3 Responses to “Blessings in Disguise?”

  1. Valerie October 31, 2012 at 1:25 am #

    Oh my word, she is SOO stinkin’ cute!!! You knitted that while pregnant? That’s cool! I can crochet, but not things like hats, just huge afghans. 🙂 The thing with gas drops, when my daughter was a baby the pediatrician also recommended them and suggested that we give them to her *before* a feeding because it helped trap the air before it went down too low (or something like that) and after she would eat she’d do monster burps!! Anyway, it helped a lot, so I thought I’d pass it along. 😉

  2. The Dragon Mama October 31, 2012 at 3:03 am #

    Thank you, I think she’s pretty spectacular. I did knit that while pregnant. If you can crochet an afghan you can definitely crochet a hat! Just join your chain stitch and then crochet in a circle. But if it doesn’t work out and you need hats let me know ;). I’ve been trying to decide if I should give her gas drops before feedings. Currently I’m doing in the middle because I don’t want to give her anything on an empty stomach. Thanks for the advice =) She definitely has alcoholic old man burps down!

  3. Hannah November 15, 2012 at 2:46 am #

    Hannabert never sleeps to this day. It is great that the doctor spent so much time with you even if his/her suggestion wasn’t the best.

Leave a Reply

